Things I learned from an Interfaith dialog

On Tuesday, Elise told us about this way cool interfaith dialog that was going on between students from Califonia’s Biola University and our own BYU students.  So we (Elise, Paige, Ryan and I) went.

It was held at a professor’s home in Orem, once we found our way there (we may have not known it was in Orem originally and found ourselves wandering aimlessly through a seedier part of Provo looking for the right address) we were split into small groups with even numbers of Biola students and BYU students. Our group included paige,  elise, joe, and one other biola student along with 2 BYU students we didn’t know, ryan and myself.

I guess it’s important to note that even though the students from Biola were technically on a missions trip in Utah to try and convert (that’s not really the right word, but I don’t know what the right word would be) Latter-day Saints our discussion with them was peaceful and eye-opening. And I think that because of this experience, my testimony of the Church grew. The Biola students were wonderfully sweet and understanding. Our dialog was more about fostering understanding about our two religions. It was a wonderful environment and the Spirit was in the room as we spoke about our beliefs.

THINGS I LEARNED:

  1. Heavenly Father loves all of us.
  2. More about what Evangelists believe
  3. Differences between LDS and Evangelical Doctrine
  4. Similarities between LDS and Evangelical Doctrine

My number one take away from this was a better understanding of Heavenly Father’s love for us. I could feel the spirit testifying to me that while these students may not believe the same doctrines as us about who God is or what our purpose on earth is, I know that He still loves them. And it was so amazing to hear them share stories about how God has influenced their life and times when they have felt His love for them. I know that Heavenly Father loves each of us, because we are His children. If there was a way to record all my thoughts during the evening, that would have been the number one thought going through my head most frequently. Just because someone doesn’t believe the same things I do, just because someone doesn’t have the knowledge as I do, does not mean that Heavenly Father loves that person any less.

I am so grateful to have this Gospel in my life. I am so overjoyed to have the knowledge I have about the Savior Jesus Christ. I know that this Church is true, that is is Christ’s Church and the true Church on the Earth today.  I know that I am a Child of a loving Heavenly Father, who blesses and shares his love for all His children. I know that Heavenly Father wants each of us to return to live with Him. I am thankful to have the Book of Mormon in my life to guide me and testify of Christ. I know that it is a true book. I have prayed about it, and I have been given confirmation of it’s truthfulness by the Holy Spirit. I know that Joseph Smith was a prophet. I know that Thomas S. Monson is a prophet and I know that the Lord will continue to revel to us His will through His prophets. I know that these things are true. And my life has been blessed by this knowledge.

One thought on “Things I learned from an Interfaith dialog

  1. Pingback: The Return of Elise | The Strange Life of Sarah-B

Leave a Reply

